Family Birthday Extravaganza

I’m heading to Asheboro tomorrow to celebrate birthdays for Matt (my one and only brother), Emily (fabulous new sister-in-law) and DAD (most dependable guy I know).

Here they all are (plus me and mom) a little less than a year ago in Atlanta, celebrating the retirement of Bobby Cox. Of course, my brother is looking off into the distance, on purpose, to avoid the intensity of picture taking. And dad…no idea what he’s doing. Regardless of the picture ruination, this is us. My beautiful, supportive family (minus the crazy dog).

Moving on. Three or four years ago, I made an Oreo cake, 2 layers, nothing special. I forget the occasion, but that’s irrelevant. Ever since that cake, my dad has been bugging me multiple times per year to make this cake for him again. So in honor of his birthday…

Giant Oreo Cupcake. Whew. I’ve been working on this thing for the past 4 hours. Although I do frequently bake, I never EVER take time to decorate. Even so, I had a ton of fun with this. Although I’ve disguised its flaws, I won’t be surprised if the top has completely fallen over by morning, which would probably make me shed a tear or two.

2 responses

  1. OMG….that cake looks AWESOME!! I bet it tastes as good as it looks too!! Your dad is going to be soo happy! I’m glad the cupcake pan came in handy. Can’t wait to see you tomorrow! 🙂

Leave a Reply

